The American Institute of Architects New York State (AIANYS) recognized the 2021 Honor Award recipients during a virtual ceremony held on January 20, 2022. Among the recipients is Kelly Hayes McAlonie (BEDS’92, MArch’94), FAIA, awarded the James William Kideney Award.

The James William Kideney Award, the highest award bestowed on a member, recognizes a lifetime of notable contributions by an architect to the profession, the professional society, and the community.

The Director of Campus Planning at the University at Buffalo, Kelly has dedicated her career to educational architecture, advocating for the profession and making it accessible to the community. Kelly founded Architecture + Education, an AIA National-award winning program; serves on the Richardson Center Corporation Board of Directors and collaborated with Despina Stratigakos and Mattel, Inc. in 2011, to design and launch “Barbie I Can Be… Architect.” Kelly is collaborating with the Trailblazing Women of Western New York to create a landmark celebrating women leaders from the region, most notably, Louise Bethune. She is writing a biography of Louise Bethune, the first professional woman architect, and has spent the last fourteen years researching her life and career. “Louise Bethune: Every Woman Her Own Architect.” For over 20 years, Kelly has been an active member and leader of the AIA. As President of AIA Buffalo/WNY in 2008 and AIA New York State in 2012, she led strategic efforts for both components with a focus on member value and community engagement. For AIANYS, this resulted in an actively engaged staff and fully invested board of directors focused on four portfolios: Inform, Share, Influence and Belong. She founded and developed the Excelsior Awards, a program that celebrates New York State public architecture projects and as a leader on the national AIA Strategic Council, worked to transform architectural education for future generations.

AIA New York State’s prestigious annual Honor Awards celebrate emerging professionals, architects, firms and educators throughout New York State that
have contributed significantly to the profession and practice of architecture and to the AIA.