By Christena Copeland & Alison DeLory

Seven individuals appointed to the Order of Canada in late December have Dalhousie connections.

They are (picture top left to bottom right): John Bragg (LLD’08); Brian G. MacKay-Lyons, C.M., (BSc’73, BEDS’77, BArch’78); Timothy Caulfield (LLM’93); Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur (PhD (EN)’85); Dr. Andreas Laupacis (PMG’79); Colleen Jones; and Dr. Allen Eaves (MSc’67, MD’69).

The Order of Canada celebrates citizens who have made exemplary and longstanding contributions to this country. From volunteers to scientists, businesspeople to artists, since 1967, this award has recognized people whose life and work has made this nation a better place. The Order is considered one of Canada’s highest honours.

Her Excellency described this year’s recipients as “celebrated trailblazers in their respective fields, [who are] inspiring, educating and mentoring future generations, creating a foundation of excellence in our country that is respected throughout the world.”

Appointees will be invited to an investiture ceremony later in 2023 to receive their insignia.

John L. Bragg, C.C., O.N.S. (LLD’08)

John Bragg was being promoted from Officer to Companion within the Order of Canada – the Order’s highest rank. Bragg, who was given his honorary degree by Dalhousie in 2008, was honoured for his exceptional contributions to the prosperity and well-being of Atlantic Canadians and for his legendary commitment to the development of rural communities. Bragg serves as chairman, president, and co-chief executive officer of Oxford Frozen Foods Limited, a business he founded in 1968 that operates one of the largest fruit farms in the world. He also founded a cable-television company in the 1970s that grew to become Eastlink — a large telecommunications firm. Aside from his many entrepreneurial endeavours, Bragg is a philanthropist who has made significant contributions to Dalhousie.

Brian G. MacKay-Lyons, C.M., (BSc’73, BEDS’77, BArch’78)

Brian MacKay-Lyons was made a Member of the Order, recognizing his contributions to architecture, notably through his vernacular designs that celebrate Nova Scotian culture. MacKay-Lyons is an internationally renowned architect who was a full professor and faculty member at Dalhousie’s School of Architecture. MacKay-Lyons taught for more than 37 years, completing his tenure at Dal in June of 2020. During this time, his international acclaim as a practitioner attracted a high caliber of national and international students and faculty, as well as guest participation from renowned international architects. Additionally, he held numerous visiting professorships and endowed academic chairs at leading universities.

Timothy Caulfield (LLM’93)

Timothy Caulfield was appointed Member for his contributions to health law, policy and ethics, and for his efforts to counter misinformation. At the University of Alberta, Caulfield is the Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy, professor in the Faculty of Law and School of Public Health, and research director at the Health Law Institute. He’s lectured in Dalhousie’s Faculty of Law seminar series, and was featured in “Fact Checker,” a 2019 DAL Magazine spotlight.

Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur (PhD (EN)’85)

Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur was appointed Member for his ground-breaking research in mechanical and mechatronics engineering and for his visionary leadership in academia. Dr. Hamdullahpur was the University of Waterloo’s sixth president and vice-chancellor (2010-2021) and has been an engineer, educator, and leader over the span of his career in research and higher education, which also included time teaching at Dalhousie.

Dr. Andreas Laupacis (PMG’79)

Dr. Andreas Laupacis was appointed Officer for his contributions to the field of medicine and health-care initiatives in Canada and globally. Dr. Laupacis was the first Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee; and president and CEO of the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences, and executive director of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute at St. Michael’s Hospital. He’s been a professor at University of Toronto, served on the Alberta Health Services Board and was editor of the Canadian Medical Association Journal.

Colleen Jones

Colleen Jones, who was a Dalhousie student in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, was also appointed as an Order of Canada member for her accomplishments and contributions both on and off the ice, as a Canadian curling legend, reporter, and broadcaster.

Dr. Allen Eaves (MSc’67, MD’69)

Dr. Allen Eaves was appointed Officer for his leading business acumen in the biotechnology industry and for his advancement of cutting-edge stem cell and leukemia research. Dr. Eaves is the founder, president, and CEO of STEMCELL Technologies in Vancouver, and founding director of the Terry Fox Laboratory for Hematology/Oncology Research, which over a 25-year period he grew into an internationally recognized centre for the study of leukemia and stem cell research.

The Dal alumni community offers all the inductees heartfelt congratulations.